Skip to content Go to accessibility help
We use cookies to keep our websites easy to use and relevant to our users’ requirements and to enable us to learn which advertisements bring users to our website. Select Accept below if you wish to proceed or How to change your cookies for instructions on how to manage your cookie settings. Find out more about our Cookie Policy.

PPI Complaints Deadline Has Now Passed

Payment Protection Insurance (PPI)

The deadline of 29 August 2019 was set by our regulator the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) for PPI complaints. The FCA delivered a nationwide communications campaign to raise awareness of this deadline among consumers. Generally, if you didn’t make a complaint on or before 29 August 2019, you can no longer claim money back for PPI by complaining to us or the Financial Ombudsman Service.

After you’ve complained about PPI or submitted an Information Request on or before 29 August 2019

If you complained to us about the sale of PPI on or before 29 August 2019, we will firstly acknowledge that we have received your complaint. Within 8 weeks of receiving your complaint, you should also either receive a final response, or a communication outlining when you can expect a final response.

If you submitted a PPI Information Request on or before 29 August 2019 please do not be concerned if you do not hear from us. Your Information request will be processed and if we find that you may have had PPI we will automatically raise a complaint on your behalf and we will issue a final response.

Please note that the run up to the deadline has been a particularly busy period for PPI across the industry, which may result in your final response being delayed. Should you wish to contact us you can do so on the numbers below.

What to do if you’re unhappy with your final response

If you aren’t happy with the final response or you do not hear back, you can call us on the numbers below.

If you still aren’t satisfied after contacting us about your issue, you can complain to the The Financial Ombudsman Service.

Deadline for complaints to the Financial Ombudsman Service

If you received a final response letter and wish to complain to the Financial Ombudsman Service, you must refer your complaint to them within 6 months of the date the letter was sent.

Exceptional circumstances

You may be able to complain to us or to the Financial Ombudsman Service, after the deadline if you couldn’t complain within the time limit because of exceptional circumstances. The Financial Ombudsman Service website has more on exceptional circumstances.

You can write to us at the following address with your complaint and exceptional circumstances. Please ensure you provide a clear explanation about the circumstances that you consider being exceptional and include any available evidence to support your claim. Please note we may contact you if we require further information.

PPI Team
2nd Floor
Guildhall
57 Queen Street
Glasgow
G1 3ER

Alternatively you can call us on the numbers below.

For information with regards to in time complaints about rejected claims on live PPI policies, about administrative matters not connected to the sale of PPI or to make a general complaint not related to PPI, please visit our general complaints page.

Please note: This page includes frequently asked questions for topics relevant before the deadline, such as what is PPI and whether you could complain about more than one product.

This page should answer your questions about PPI. For more information, you can call us on 0800 055 6655 (or if you live outside of the UK please call us on +44 141 952 3437*) between 8am and 6pm (UK Time) Monday to Friday.

* When you call us, call charges may apply. Please check with your telephone service provider.

FAQs

What is PPI?

What is PPI?

Payment protection insurance (PPI) was sold with products you need to make repayments on – like loans, credit cards or mortgages.

PPI was designed to cover repayments in some situations if you couldn’t make the payments yourself. Maybe because you lost your job, or couldn’t work because of accident, illness, disability or death.


What else is PPI known as?

PPI is also sometimes called:

  • accident, sickness and unemployment (ASU) insurance
  • account cover
  • credit insurance
  • loan care
  • loan protection
  • loan repayment insurance
  • payment cover
  • protection plan

What kind of borrowing might I have had PPI on?

PPI could have been sold on lending products, like:

  • loans – this includes personal loans and business loans
  • credit cards
  • store cards – this is usually from a high street store
  • mortgages
  • loans secured on your home in addition to your mortgage
  • car finance or something else bought on credit – this may have been called a ‘finance agreement’ or ‘hire purchase’
  • home shopping accounts and catalogue accounts

How do I know if I was mis-sold PPI?

If you can answer 'yes' to any one of these questions, you may have been mis-sold PPI:
  • Were you pressured into buying PPI?
  • Were you told you must have PPI?
  • Were you advised to take out PPI that did not suit your circumstances?
  • Were you promised a cheaper rate or a better chance of acceptance of the loan or credit, if you took PPI?
  • Was PPI added without telling you?
  • Were you self-employed, unemployed or retired but advised to take PPI?
  • Did you have an existing medical condition when you took out the PPI?
  • Were you advised if this medical condition was covered by your PPI?
  • Was it not made clear that you would pay interest on the PPI if it was added to your loan?
  • Was it not made clear that the PPI cover would end before the loan or credit was repaid?

This is not a complete list. There may be other reasons that PPI was mis-sold.

What information do I need to make a PPI complaint?

The key information we need is:

  • Your name (and any previous names you've used)
  • Current and previous addresses
  • Date of birth
  • Your employment and financial circumstances at the time you had PPI

If you don’t have all the information, tell us as much as you can. We can search relevant electronic records back to November 1995.

If you held PPI before this date, please provide your sort code and account number and dates you held PPI.

We’ll contact you if we need more information.

I need accessibility support, what can I do?

Depending on your needs – we could make adjustments like using large print, Braille, audio or alternative languages.

We’ll assist you in any way we can. If you have any questions call us on 0800 055 6655 (or if you live outside of the UK please call us on +44 141 952 3437 *) between 8am and 6pm (UK Time) Monday to Friday.

* When you call us, call charges may apply. Please check with your telephone service provider.

For information on how we can help, visit our accessibility and disability support page.

Can I complain about any PPI policy?

I took out my policy a long time ago, can I still complain?

Yes. Based on the information you provide we can search relevant electronic records back to November 1995.

Did you have PPI before November 1995? Please give us your sort code, account number and the dates you held PPI in your complaint.


I cancelled my policy, can I still complain?

Yes.

Can I make a PPI information request or complaint on behalf of someone else?

Yes, but you need a signed letter of permission from that person. For example, that may be a friend or relative.

Because we need the signed letter of permission, this needs to be done in writing. If you need further assistance, call us on 0800 055 6655 (or if you live outside of the UK please call us on +44 141 952 3437 *) between 8am and 6pm (UK Time) Monday to Friday.

* When you call us, call charges may apply. Please check with your telephone service provider.

Please note, from the 30th of June 2019 if you have raised an Information Request on behalf of someone else and it comes back positive we will automatically raise a complaint on their behalf. You will receive a letter from us confirming whether they have PPI or not. If there is a positive PPI outcome you will receive a further letter confirming we have logged their complaint.

What happens if someone is making a PPI information request or complaint on my behalf?

If you provided your written permission for us to deal with someone else, we’ll write to you both with the outcome of your request or complaint.

If we’re not satisfied that the permission meets our requirements, we’ll let you know before discussing your case with anyone else.

Commission earned by a provider

What is commission earned by a provider?

The provider who sold you a PPI policy may have received a high level of commission on the policy.

If you did not know about this commission at the time, you can complain about this. Commission earned by a provider may be called Plevin, after a Supreme Court decision, or Recurring Non-Disclosure of commission.


Can I complain about commission earned by a provider?

You may be able to complain if:

  • You had a PPI policy covering repayment on a credit agreement where money was potentially owed on or after 6 April 2008
  • And you had a PPI mis-selling complaint rejected before late 2015 (after 2015 commission earned by a provider was automatically investigated)
  • Or you had PPI which you do not believe was mis-sold to you

I am complaining about PPI mis-selling, do I need to do anything about commission earned by a provider?

No. We’ll consider commission earned by a provider as part of your complaint, even if you don’t mention it.


I was already compensated for mis-selling, can I still complain about commission earned by a provider?

No. You have already received full compensation.

What happens once I’ve submitted a PPI information request?

From the 30th of June 2019 if you have raised an Information Request and it comes back positive we will automatically raise a complaint on your behalf. You will receive a letter from us confirming whether you have PPI or not. If there is a positive PPI outcome you will receive a further letter confirming we have logged your complaint.

If your Information request was raised before 30th June 2019 we will write to you with our findings. If there is a positive PPI outcome and your letter doesn't make reference to the Bank automatically raising a complaint on your behalf, you should complete and submit a complaint before the 29th of August 2019.

What happens once I’ve submitted a PPI complaint?

We’ll acknowledge receipt of your complaint promptly.

We’ll investigate and aim to write to you with our final response and details of any compensation you may be due within 56 days. If we’re unable to complete our investigation within 56 days, we’ll write to you with an update.

If you have any questions or wish to provide additional detail to your complaint, please call us on 0800 055 6655 (or if you live outside of the UK please call us on +44 141 952 3437 *) between 8am and 6pm (UK Time) Monday to Friday.

* When you call us, call charges may apply. Please check with your telephone service provider.


What to do if you aren't happy with your final response

If you aren't happy with our final response, or haven't received a final response within 8 weeks, you can complain to the Financial Ombudsman Service about this.

You will still be able to complain to the Financial Ombudsman Service after the 29 August deadline if:
  • You complained to us on or before 29 August 2019
  • We give you our final response on or after 29 August 2019

You will need to submit your complaint within 6 months of receiving our final response.

For more information on the Financial Ombudsman Service, please see their website (Link opens in a new tab). You can contact them on 0800 023 4567 or write to:

The Financial Ombudsman Service
Exchange Tower
London
E14 9SR

Where else can I get information and help?

There are a number of free sources of help and support related to PPI:

  • The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) – regulate the financial sector and protect consumers. The FCA provides general information to help you understand PPI. But they cannot give you advice about your individual circumstances or complaint.

    You can contact them on 0800 101 8800 or write to:

    Financial Conduct Authority
    12 Endeavour Square
    London
    E20 1JN

  • Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) – a free, independent service for settling disputes between financial businesses and their customers. They can deal with complaints about a wide range of financial issues, including PPI.

    You can contact them on 0800 023 4567 or write to:

    The Financial Ombudsman Service
    Exchange Tower
    London
    E14 9SR

  • Money Advice Service (opens in a new window) – an independent service, set up by government to provide free and impartial advice to help people manage their money.

    You can contact them on 0800 138 7777 or write to:

    The Money Advice Service
    Holborn Centre
    120 Holburn
    London
    EC1N 2TD

  • Citizens Advice (opens in a new window) - provides free, confidential and independent advice to help people overcome their problems.

    You can contact them on 03454 04 05 06 or write to:

    Citizens Advice consumer service
    2nd Floor, Fairfax House
    Merrion Street
    Leeds
    LS2 8JU

  • Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS) (opens in a new window) - If you think you were mis-sold PPI by a provider that has gone out of business, you may be able to claim on the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS). FSCS may cover you if you are, or were, a customer of an authorised financial business in the UK that no longer exists.

    Please see FSCS leaflet download (Opens in a new window) for further information or visit www.fscs.org.uk