Skip to content Go to accessibility help
We use cookies to keep our websites easy to use and relevant to our users’ requirements and to enable us to learn which advertisements bring users to our website. Select Accept below if you wish to proceed or How to change your cookies for instructions on how to manage your cookie settings. Find out more about our Cookie Policy.

The 2019 edition of the annual road race is unfolding, promising a spectacular few days of thrills and hills as the world’s elite cyclists saddle up.


Yorkshire Bank has been a proud sponsor of the Tour de Yorkshire since its beginning in 2015, that came about as a legacy to the 2014 Tour de France Grand Départ.

This year for the second time, Yorkshire Bank is sponsoring the men’s and women’s General Classification blue leader’s jersey. The sponsorship is shared between Yorkshire Bank and the Yorkshire Bank Bike Libraries

In 2016, Yorkshire Bank were the Sprinter green jersey sponsor and Yorkshire Bank Bike Libraries were the Stage 3 Sponsor.

Highlights from Tour de Yorkshire 2018 (3 – 6 May)

The Tour de Yorkshire provides the perfect platform to showcase everything that the UK country has to offer the cycling community and the 2018 race raised the bar further.

The women’s races were extended by an extra day, which meant the mens and women’s race were integrated together, sharing broadly the same routes, with the women’s race taking place in the morning and the men in the afternoon.

In addition to this, the race’s first ever summit finish was incorporated into 2018 and positioned on stage two of the race on the Cow and Calf, in Ilkley. Fans were treated to the sight of Greg Van Avermaet (BMC), last year’s winner Serge Pauwels (Dimension Data) and eventual stage winner Magnus Cort Nielsen (Astana) battle it out up the final gradient in an exhilarating slow-motion sprint.

The Winners


Year Winner Team
2018 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) BMC Racing Team
2017 Serge Pauwels (BEL) Dimesion Data
2016 Thomas Voeckler (FRA) Direct Energie
2015 Lars Petter Nordhaug (NOR) Team Sky


Year Winner Team
2018 Megan Gaurnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
2017 Lizzie Deignan (GBR) Dimesion Data
2016 Kirsten Wild (NED) Direct Energie
2015 Louise Mahé (GBR) Team Sky

Catch up with the latest blogs

Read our blogs about Tour de Yorkshire

Social Media

Subscribe and keep up with the latest information

Yorkshire Bank Bike Libraries

Donate, Borrow, Ride

Yorkshire Bank Bike Libraries, in association with Cycle Yorkshire, are enabling people to donate their old unused cycles. Let someone new love your old bike by donating at one of over 60 donation stations across Yorkshire.

Find out more about the Yorkshire Bank Bike Libraries


You are here:  We care about here  >  Community  >  Cycle Yorkshire  >  Tour de Yorkshire  >  History